Backpack Program

The Backpack Program serves one of our most vulnerable and precious populations—children. According to recent statistics, 25% of members of households using an agency of the Food Bank are children under the age of 18.

How the Backpack Program works:

On the last day of the school week, program enrolled children pick up a backpack filled with food for the weekend. The backpacks are filled with easy-to-prepare meals and snacks and are provided to children in a safe and discreet manner. These students take their backpacks home, knowing they will have food for the weekend. Items are included for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack for Saturday and Sunday.

This program is free of charge to both the school and the children. Thanks to the generosity of the United Way of Northeast Arkansas, individual donors and other grant partners, the Food Bank is currently serving children enrolled in the following school districts:

  • Nettleton School District:
    University Heights Elementary
    Fox Meadow Elementary
    Nettleton Intermediate Center
  • Forrest City School District:
    Central Elementary
    Stewart Elementary
  • Jackson County School District:
    Tuckerman School
    Swifton School
  • Hillcrest School District:
    Lynn School
    Strawberry School
  • Buffalo Island Central
    BIC West – Monette
    BIC East – Leachville
  • Marmaduke Elementary

For only $150 a year, you can sponsor a child to receive a backpack filled with food for each weekend of the school year. (Due to the anonymous nature of this program, the Food Bank of Northeast Arkansas does not accept donations directed toward specific children.)

Now I’m not hungry on Saturday morning. - 5 year old boy